Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Up Close And Personal: My Wee Costa's Hummingbird

I took down Zippy's hummingbird feeder and replaced it with a fresh one.  Since I was going to sit outside for a while, I set the old one on the table next to me , ready to grab for my next trip into the house.

Maybe it was because it was now in the shade, or because he liked the ratio of sugar to water better, but he started to drink from the one right next to me.  I wasn't sitting more than a foot away.

I decided to get my camera.  Of course, now that I had it he seemed to stop coming around.  But then I supposed he had to get used to me sitting there again.  So indeed, he came back and I snapped away.  

It's difficult to capture a tiny creature like this so closely when your chair is sitting sideways to the table and your left arm, which is supposed to be steadying the camera is jammed into the chair cushion and you're holding it up with your thumb!  But I'm a trooper and there's nothing I wouldn't do (well...) to try to grab a decent, though not perfect, shot of my little buddy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.