and now, the end

I woke at 4.15, or perhaps earlier and never really got back to sleep. I lie there and think unhelpful thoughts but I did manage to hear the end of what was probably a very interesting programme by John McCarthy about boredom.

There was another fascinating programme on at lunchtime with Hardeep Singh Koli. He was talking to a half brother and sister who discovered each other 10 years ago. not that amazing but what is amazing is that they are both foundlings, left by their unknown mother in Grangemouth 18 months apart. They found each other because of the family resemblances of their children.

I have done half of what I planned to day. i've finished varnishing the banister. I think it looks quite good, pearwood. But I was too tired, and it was too dark, to eggshell the rest of the woodwork. Next week-end.

The 5:2 club launches tomorrow so I did some preparation, weights and measures. So depressing. Going back to work has had a negative effect on me, a 10k disadvantage. Ah well I have 13 weeks to do something about it.

And the decs are down and away, apart from the one that needs a boy on a ladder. The tree always looks so forlorn without all its finery. I just realised it costs more than £2 a day to have it up in the corner.

Another storm is brewing and I'm going to chill the rest of the day. Back to normal and 'auld claes and parritch' tomorrow.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.