LongDarkTeaTimeoftheSoul

By Nigel

IV 5.1.14

The new year is not getting off to the best of starts. After waking with chest pains that weren't showing any sign of letting up I called NHS24 who sent an ambulance straight out for a suspected myocardial infarction, or heart attack in common parlance. Worryingly the first ECG performed seemed to confirm this, and I got rushed to hospital with full lights and sirens. During the journey my condition grew worse so I was disconcerted to be wheeled in to resuscitation room 2 on arrival at the RIE.

After having various things plugged into me and an X-ray taken the cardiologist declared it was not an MI. Something of a relief. My Dad was just about my age when he died of a heart attack. I was given some morphine and wheeled out to a corridor, being told someone would see to me. Two hours later I had to ask someone who told me they were waiting for a bed, and gave me some more pain relief. 6 and a half hours later I am now in a different corridor, no-one has really told me anything more (though I got message through from my Sister in Newcastle who called earlier that I am stable, due another blood test at 7:30 and waiting on bed becoming free in combined assessment). Haven't eaten or been told if I can or can't which I am assuming means I could if I could get my hands on food.

As I write this the pain in my chest is bearable for the first time since 9 this morning so I am hoping I may be recovering.

At no point have I been given any indication of what it might be if it is not a heart attack.

EDIT:
I got a bed in a ward about 5:30 PM, it was explained to me that I was scheduled a blood test at 7:30 and that this is standard practice (blood test 12 hours after onset of chest pain) and there is absolutely no reason I should not have been told this at 10 AM. Jen returned with my Brother and Mum who had driven up from Newcastle, I ate some food and chatted until 8 when I got blood taken again. Jen headed back home about 9 when the doctor I was assured had me next on his list hadn't turned up. When he did see me it became apparent he had an inkling I was actually suffering from a chest infection which showed up on the x-ray from 10 AM but which the cardiology department weren't looking for. Another blood test to confirm the viral nature of the infection meant that after 14 hours in hospital I went home with the advice to take ibuprofen and rest.

I have to say that this makes me a happy man after all the possibilities, and without the one 'faulty' ECG none of this may have come to pass. Also I spent most of the day wondering how long it might be before I could legitimately get a glass of wine if it had turned out to be heart related but it was waiting for me when I stepped out of the taxi at midnight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.