Portent of Rain?

When I looked out the window this morning, the sky had pink streaks. By the time I got my camera, it was aflame. I would like to think that the old adage, "red sky in the morning, sailors (or shepherds) take warning" will come to pass.

There is a forecast for "a bit of rain" on Thursday. No doubt by Friday they will be saying that, "it wasn't enough to do any good…" but it seems to me that a bit is better than none. However, water systems throughout Sonoma County are preparing a water conservation campaign, "unheard of during the winter months". Lake Sonoma has only a year's supply before rationing is instituted. After our trip up and down the state, I would hazard a guess that the rest of the state is in no better shape.

The house is full of men today. My brother is here, preparing for a business meeting later in the week. He is talking on the phone at my desk in the office while OilMan works at his computer at his desk. Rick's conversations can be heard throughout the house as John mumbles an undertone. Jesus, the tile guy, is carrying tiles and stones through the bedroom to lay in the bathroom. He is very quiet, except for occasional thumps and the screaming tile saw down in the driveway next to his truck. The focal walls of "stacked pebbles" will have to wait until the end of February because they are backordered.

On the positive side, I'm sure Jesus is glad it isn't raining as he treks up and down the stairs with heavy loads of tile.

We will be able to use the shower without its focal wall until the stones come in.

Rick and I (mostly Rick) are planning a dinner of comfort food, and Dana and Co. are coming for dinner. Maybe not all at the same time because of serial basketball practices for Will and Peter.

There is a "big" football game on TV. Aren't they all "big"? Maybe I will watch the first episode of season four of Downton Abby in the bedroom, which I recorded last night. 9(don't give anything away, you UK viewers. We aren't allowed to see it on this side of the pond until now so that it won't conflict with the rollout of all the other new shows in September.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.