BEHIND

Definition : On the farther side of, or beyond

After another very windy night with howling gales and lashing rain, it was no surprise to us on waking to see that it was still raining. Mr. HCB said that it was strange because he could see the sun glinting on a block of flats in the distance, but there didn't appear to be a rainbow.

From the lounge I could see the sun BEHIND the clouds, and then saw it begin to peep out - but not for long, sadly. Soon after I heard loud claps of thunder and the rain continued to lash down - so before long the sun had gone, and appeared to be well behind the clouds.

It has come out again now but with such strange weather, I'm not sure for how long.

Sometimes life is like that - things go awry and we can feel very down and dejected, and then just as we feel we are getting to grips with our situation and circumstances, the sun surprises us when it comes out and lights up the sky and our lives and don't we all feel better when the sun is shining?

Maybe it's not actually the sun coming out, but perhaps we receive a letter, or a friend drops by or we receive an unexpected phone call to cheer us up. I know that as a Christian life will not always be easy or perfect, but I am reassured by some verses in Psalms:

I prayed to the Lord, and he answered me.
He freed me from all my fears.
Those who look to him for help will be radiant with joy;
no shadow of shame will darken their faces.
Psalm 34 : 4-5 - The Living Bible


Enjoy your day whatever the weather and KNOW that somewhere the sun is shining on someone - or maybe YOU could be that sun to someone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.