WELL, HOW ABOUT THAT?

Two days following - two quotes from Martin Luther King Jnr!!

I had already decided when I saw the beautiful Rolls Royce car parked near the cliff top, that it would be my blip for the day - but then, as we were walking along after parking the car, I noticed the street cleaner down on his hands and knees, sweeping up glass with a dustpan and brush.  

I couldn’t let that go by without speaking to him, so we went over and I told him that he deserved a Gold Star for being so thorough.  He beamed at me and said “I’m only doing my job” - but I told him he was the first one I had ever seen on his hands and knees!

We then had a chat about what it means to do a job well and we said that at least he could enjoy the fresh air, and wasn’t on benefits.  He agreed and said he enjoyed his job although he knew that not many people would want to do what he was doing.  I told him that we were the ones who made the mess, and relied on people like him to clean up after us.

I asked if I could take his photograph and he was quite happy about that - but interestingly, said “I’m a bit of a mess”!!  I said it didn’t matter, he was a great street cleaner - so here is Aaron, happy in his work and an excellent street sweeper.  I have written to Bournemouth Council commending him and hope that they tell him.  

Here is the quote I found about those who sweep our streets:

If a man is called to be a street sweeper,
he should sweep streets even as
Michaelangelo painted, or
Beethoven composed music or
Shakespeare wrote poetry.
He should sweep streets so well
that all the hosts of heaven and earth
will pause to say,
‘Here lived a great street sweeper
who did his job well.’”

Martin Luther King Jnr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.