Lulu05star

By Lulu05star

The best laid plans

The plan today was to take a photo of a sculpture that my next door neighbour had made of some large coloured pencils which were installed along her driveway. They were very eye-catching and I had taken a photo a few days before and thought it would make an interesting blip for today. So camera in hand I climbed my steep driveway, walked along the rather busy highway stopping every now and then to admire the view of our gardens and then.....what....they had gone!!!! I certainly wasn't expecting that.

Returning home I walked into another photo opportunity. I usually walk through the carport to the house but this time I opted for the path between house and carport and here I encountered a spiders web. This is one of my least favourite things to do, especially if it is head height as I have rather unruly curly hair in which a spider could easily get itself tangled. But on this occasion I stopped millimetres short of have it plastered across my face...well done me. I carefully negotiated my way under the web to check out the spider and this is the resulting pic.

It is a Jewel Spider (Christmas or Spiny spider), one of the orb weavers. These tiny spiders are usually found on a web strung between two bushes but this one opted to string itself between two buildings. They look like a creature you don't wanna touch. Its is about the size of a fly's body. The first time I saw one was in November when a friend from Switzerland spotted it in Kings Park, Perth and I was fascinated by this tiny spider with its interesting colour and structure. So I go a lifetime without seeing one and then I come across another so quickly. Guess I'm just not as observant as I thought I was.

Another thwarted plan was the plan to upload it on blip that afternoon but my mobile wifi router decided to stop working and so I had to wait until I returned to Perth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.