... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Shnarf: Amber Eyes

Fierier eyes in large ("L").

Thank you for all the positive feedback on my splashy mini yesterday; it hit the spotlight that certainly lifted my spirits! It was bleach bypass (in Color Efex Pro) that I used (as many deduced); I tagged it as such, but seem not to have mentioned it in my commentary. I use the effect quite a lot, but applied it with more contrast yesterday which added to the drama. Bleach bypass is a darkroom technique in which the bleach stage of the processing of colour film is skipped (hence its alternative name "skip bleach") which would leave the silver grains in the emulsion (hence its other alternative name "silver retention") yielding a black-and-white image over the colour one. I like it for the way that it achieves the contrasty "punchiness" of mono, while retaining the colour of the original. When the colours are particularly muted, it can make the image look like mono, but with variable toning across the frame.

Shnarf doesn't like the flash much, but she certainly doesn't dislike it enough to walk away from the attention associated with it... I've blipper her a few times before.

p.s. More splashing cars on Flickr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.