Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Yea, but can you do THIS?

How fortunate am I to have entertainment like this right outside my door?? I put out some acorns this morning and crouched in the 10 Fahrenheit (-12 Celsius) weather, Big Daddy in gloved hand, to watch the fun. And they didn't disappoint. It took the first jay less than 3 minutes to spot the nuts, sound the food screech, and fly in.

They take turns, based on some sort of hierarchy within the group - Blue here was third in line and decided that he really needed to get as many acorns as possible. If you look closely you will see that he has one acorn in his crop and another in his beak. Cheeky fellow. Hard not to smile when you see something like this. And if you want another smile, take a look at this one which was my second choice for today.

I also attempted a short hike this morning - lasted all of 15 minutes before returning to the car. All of my cheeks were freezing, my feet were numb and I'd lost feeling in my hands - sheesh. Not liking the Arctic Vortex. (Yes, the weather people are now naming cold fronts, apparently.) Before I wimped out, I did see quite a few birds, including a family of eastern bluebirds seeking shelter in a woodpecker hole. I watched four of them pack themselves into the cavity.

Marilyn was back at the watering hole this morning - and complaining bitterly that I'm made her butt look big in yesterday's Blip. This coming just after she wolfed down a bunch of suet...

Continuing with some phone calls and research today on elder care options. It is all very daunting, but I am starting to make some sense of some of the options.

Happy Hump Day, people.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.