Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Freezing her tuckus off

This is Marilyn the Mockingbird, minus her usual long legs. (See her lovely long legs, here!)

The day started off at 3 below zero (yes, that's Fahrenheit!) and has only climbed to about 8 above zero as of the middle of the afternoon. All the birds are fluffed up and most of them are trying to perch on just one leg, while keeping the other tucked up against their bodies for warmth. I've put out extra dried meal worms and suet along with the usual peanuts and sunflower seeds and the heated bird bath for water. Poor little birds need to take in a lot of food when it is this cold just to keep themselves warm.

I posted 5 other pictures of legless birds starting HERE on Flickr .

Sorry for the lack of comments in the last few days. I spent all day yesterday and most of the day today on the phone talking to nursing and assisted living facilities - a sad and soul-draining task. I'm afraid it all started to feel a bit overwhelming to me yesterday. Before getting on the phone today, I spent some time taking photos, which always soothes my nerves and quiets my mind. (However, not being completely crazy, I took all photos from inside, though the windows!)

Tomorrow the high should be in the 20's and then it will continue to warm up later in the week. Thank goodness. I hope that everyone affected by the frigid temps manages to stay safe and warm!

ciao,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.