I wish...

I could knit!

Pre-teens I was quite good. I learnt beyond the basic stitches, can still read a pattern and expect, if it were a vital necessity, I could still make something worthwhile. For me knitting and crochet make me feel as though I have my hands tied with the chains I make and' as I have to sit to work, instead of being a relaxing pastime, it becomes a chore rather than a joy.

For the nature of her disability, W. who I work for, has to sit for very long periods and makes the most amazing things. Although she does sew and has made the most beautiful rag dolls, she can't use the sewing machine for long periods but she can stay in a comfortable position to knit for hours. She has already made a few adorable jackets for my nieces new baby then, the other day she found some patterns for the most wonderful knitted dolls. This was her a trial to see how she got on with the patterns... isn't it gorgeous?

I found other pattern books by the same author on Ebay so, W. now has enough to keep her busy for months. She can knit a whole village full of characters and their wives. Not just the people, the patterns include knitted animals, vegetables, cakes and even the tools for their trades.

The names of all the characters are amazing. Daphne Dabble, the artist, Mrs Muffin owns the cake shop, Mrs Mopitup, the maid. Samuel Sprout the Greengrocer, Harold the handyman and Benjamin Bakewell... and the list goes on.

Now I am looking for wool!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.