CarrieEllenA

By CarrieEllenA

A Rocky Start

When I started it was simply icking. A personal term for when there is enough moisture falling from the sky to be unpleasant but not really enough to do anything about. As I dug in my new bed a former owner of my home drove by to visit the old neighborhood. One does want to be polite, but they were in a car and the moisture was rapidly becoming rain. So all I got to today was a 2 foot long 1 foot wide and 1 foot deep trench. These are the rocks I pulled out, rinsed to be pretty for the blip world. This is the easy part, despite the roots in the soil. At this point I am past those, but need to dig down another foot for a healthy bed for my future plants and I will need to amend the soil because the rest is all clay and rocks (that old riverbed I mentioned yesterday). the smaller rocks will be kept for another project I have in mind and the larger ones will improve a small path I put in of found rocks leading from the driveway to the front lawn. It doesn't do much more than keep my feet from getting muddy, but I like it and it uses the hand-sized rocks that I find as I put in the new beds. 2 square feet down, 358 square feet to go!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.