What to do on a Saturday afternoon.......

Go to Ikea of course!
And not on your own for a flying visit to pick up what you need.
No.
Go with four children.
At the busiest time of day.
Get there just after 11am and stay until 3pm.
And you'll be guaranteed to have the rage by the time you leave!!
I was fine for the first few hours. It was lovely to meet our friends Mrs Z, Mr K and Miss A and Mr H.
We had a very long leisurely lunch (I resisted meatballs and had a salad instead. Go me!!) and then a mooch round the showrooms.
The children measured things, sat, climbed, hid, wandered off, picked things up, knocked things over and - in the case of my two - got progressively more tired and whiney.
We put them in a trolley eventually!
Then hours in a toilet relay, hours searching for stools in the warehouse bit, hours queuing, hours getting drinks on the way out and hours getting out of the car park.
I had the proper rage!!
So it was nice to get back to Mrs Z's and drink tea, eat scrummy sausages, mash and gravy, cheesecake, salted almonds and pistachios, drink the best mulled wine I've ever had, and Baileys and whisky and ginger beer, watch Pacific Rim and collapse into bed far later than I should have.
What a great day!
Apart from the last little bit of Ikea.
That was rubbish!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.