carliewired

By carliewired

Fabric Play

Squares cut, squares sewn, then
sliced and scrambled to make a
quilt top donation.

~ carliewired

I claim no originality here. This "Disappearing 9 Patch" has been around for a while. If you google it you will find all sorts of examples.
1. Make a 9 patch block from squares all the same size. Interest fabric should be on the corners. Dark in the center.
2. Cut through the center in side to side and top to bottom. This gives you 4 new blocks to play with. They can be organized and turned in many ways to make a quilt pattern.
3. Decide on a pattern and sew it together.
4. Here's a look at the top I came up with.

I've done precious little quilting in the past 2 years. I feel very disconnected from my most passionate hobby. I find my hands don't work very well (arthritis?) and I just don't have the mental concentration for it as I once did. Perhaps it will come back in time.

I came home with two stacks of 8 inch fabric squares from my Monday morning group. I intended to have both stacks turned into simple quilt tops to return in the new year. Just this past week I sorted through what I had and swapped out some of the squares for my own fabric squares. Finally, I got one top together. It seemed a major achievement to complete this one very easy pattern.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.