The focus of my existence

Yesterday was a challenge.

With a lot of time on my hands, plus discomfort, grief etc, it did all hit me yesterday. These are the times I would have talked to Mum. She couldn't and didn't try to change anything, but she was there. (Dad still is and for that I'm grateful).

This isn't how I'd envisaged doing my grieving but it's how life has turned out. All we can ever do is go with it. And so I went with grief yesterday. There is no point in bottling it up or pretending, grief will still catch up with you.

Today I've sorted a few things with work and ACC. Both have gone smoothly and I'm grateful for that.

I'm also grateful for my friends and neighbours who make my life easier. I phone one neighbour at least once a day. She opens my blinds, feeds the cat, fills my water bottle and any other of small tasks that would otherwise take me a long time standing up on crutches to achieve.

My friend Sharyn came and change my bed linen, plus she did a couple of loads of washing for me. Another friend dropped in with some fruit and a potion that helps bones to mend. She also put my rubbish bins out and sorted a few odds and ends.

It's all these little things that make a difference. Often they make the bigger things bearable.

And for that I am immensely grateful.

For the super observant, in the background (other than the bruising), that's The Rolling Stones - Goats Head Soup, and Lisa Ekdahl, Peter Nordahl Trio - Back to Earth.

Nothing like mixing it up ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.