An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Uncle Bryan, erm I mean Jimmy!

Backblip

Sorting through more old photos today and I found this photo of my auntie Maisie’s wedding. (Maisie and my mum were cousins but were more like sisters so she’s always been auntie to me) This is her about to walk down the aisle with her dad, my Grandpa’s brother (and Uncle Jimmy to me)

When I was little I used to stay with my Auntie Lizzie (who was my gran's sister so they were two sisters married to two brothers. Are you following? :) and Uncle Jimmy on a Thursday night.

I loved staying with them. They had a black Labrador called Scott who I adored and my auntie Lizzie always made scones and Empire Biscuits. If I close my eyes I can still taste their utter deliciousness.

But it was seeing this photo of my Uncle Jimmy today that triggered a memory that made me laugh till I cried.

I was in their living room and the telly was on showing Top of the Pops. THIS group came on and I screamed, ran through to the kitchen to grab my auntie Lizzie and tell her to come quick, Uncle Jimmy was on the telly!!

Oh how she laughed at the idea of me thinking Bryan Ferry was my Uncle Jimmy but honestly, with his hair not quite so tidy as it is in this photo and the twinkle he always had in his eye, it was an easy mistake for a five year old to make.

And my Uncle Jimmy dined out on that story for years! :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.