Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Uncommonly Common - Part 1

I really love taking photos of birds, but sometimes I feel like a one-trick pony with all the bird shots. So, I decided to give myself a little challenge this week - to post one shot each day that shows a common backyard bird in a way that is uncommon (and yes, I am taking a lot of creative license here).

So today's entry is the very common Tufted Titmouse with his glorious wings fully spread. I did a bit of staging to get this - first thing was to find an angle where the light was going to work. Then, to find a nice branch or perch of some sort that was in the right place. Then add some bait (peanut) and , finally, take a gazillion shots in the hopes that one would be "the one." This is it. The one. I cropped it a bit and lightened it slightly.

I posted four other fun shots on Flickr, starting HERE, if you'd like to have a look.

Temps rose into the 40's (F) today which felt nearly balmy after last week. I am longing for spring.

Sorry to be so far behind on comments. I'm trying to catch up, but with limited success.

Debbi

PS: And I just noticed that last year's Blip was also a titmouse.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.