PORTRAIT OF A RUSSIAN LADY

Definition : a painting, drawing, photograph, or engraving of a person, especially one depicting only the face or head and shoulders.

When I went out this morning, I saw this dear lady trying to get back into the apartment block, but she could not remember the passcode. I thought she was my Russian friend, G's mother, so tried to communicate with her, but her English was very limited and my Russian was zilch! Eventually, we sorted it out and she was happy, but she didn't want to get in - she was going out for a walk, but obviously wanted to remember the code so that she could get back in later!

So we walked together into the town - with me trying to communicate with her as best I could and her trying to tell me various words and phrases in Russian - I would probably remember how to say "Good Morning" in Russian if I had written it down!

For those interested, it is "доброе утро" - or put another way "dobroye utro".

For DDW's January Challenge here is a PORTRAIT of G's mother - I don't know her name but she was delightful, and it was a very interesting walk. I got out my camera and gesticulated that I would like to take her photograph - as I took it she said "bad" but I told her she was beautiful and I hope my body language communicated that to her.

It is quite difficult to communicate when you don't know a single word of someone's language and I don't know any Russian, but we both smiled a lot and also waved our arms about and we managed.

Hopefully, when G gets back from Russia in the next few days, I will be able to meet up with her and her mother and hopefully we can then communicate much better with G interpreting for us both.

A warm smile is the universal language of kindness.
William Arthur Ward

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.