Mikey88

By Mikey88

Estuary Sunrise

It was a beautiful, cold, frosty morning at last and I managed to get out early enough to catch the sunrise. I went to the river, but on the opposite side to where I usually go, as you can see the sun rising from this side.

It was brilliant. There were canada geese flying along the river channel, waders and gulls picking their way through the mud and this fantastic light. I also got some good shots of the village, plus some macro shots of lords and ladies berries and some lichens and mosses.

Having exhausted this site, I hopped back into the car and went over to the Tamar, where the mist had flooded the valley. Got some nice shots of the boatyard in the mist, moored yachts, a canoeist working his way up the river, plus some shots of riverside houses in the mist.

It ended up with 177 shots which I kept (although some were duplicates which I haven't looked at closely, yet) from which I had to choose one to blip. I chose this one because it was the start of the fantastic light which followed the sun coming up.

On the downside, one of the arms of my glasses snapped off this afternoon. I rang the opticians, and they can't fit me in until a week on Thursday - which means I won't get new glasses for about two weeks!! I tried superglue, but all that achieved was covering a part of the lens with a film of glue. The upshot is that I have to balance them on my nose, supported by one arm behind my left ear, which is ok until I change my facial expression and then they go all wonky. I don't know how anyone ever wore pince nez.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.