Trouble at T'Mill...

Yes....Flooding.

Harnham Mill (Blip), in happier, drier times back in June, this evening just out of imminent danger from flooding, though as you see from my waded out viewpoint, the floodwaters still are proving to be worryingly troublesome. You can clearly see park benches and a litter bin way out in the waters...

So, after dark, the dull dark orange hue from streetlamps bouncing off low misty cloud did nothing much for the overall image, so I wound down all the colour saturation, except blues, to black and white. I really liked the blue lights framing the doorway to the pub and restaurant as it was open - indeed, I popped in for a light refreshment - and liked how it contrasted with the rest of the mono image. The end addition, the hotel part is warm brick, so I added selective sepia and dark red filter in Photoshop, to make this part stand out a bit.

Whether you like my treatment here, or not, at least I had a bit of fun and tried to do something a little different and to inject perhaps some beauty in this calamitous situation. The Cathedral is through the trees on the right hand side. Look in LARGE to see more of it.

Lens is Nikkor 10-24mm

Many thanks to ALL for getting my flooded sunrise Cathedral reflection Blip of yesterday up to the very top of the Spotlights!

I added almost no text to it yesterday, but its creation was quite an interesting one. I had not wanted to go out, it being so cold and I was still tired from my New Forest walk the day before.

By the time I had waddled the mile down to the Watermeadows in my Wellington boots, there were two other photographers already set up with their big tripods and even bigger D800 and EOS6's. As I waded down in the flowing waters to find a suitable location, it soon transpired that the only place where there weren't reeds blocking the view of getting a full reflection of the entire Spire, was where these guys were.

So, little me got quite the cold shoulder as I tried to invade their space and 'only' armed with my consumer DX D7000 and slow Nikkor 16-85mm lens. I heard them talking about not being able to sell any pictures these days and just a stream of moan, moan, moan....

Anyway, these guys wouldn't have got their cameras high enough to get the reflected Spire up out of the foreground, which was a barbed wire fence. The Canon guy was going to make a feature of this wire, but it cut right through the bottom of the frame.

Bottom line is that I got the last laugh. I used the Live View and hoisted mine way above my head and got the shot I posted up. I got the perfect reflection and they didn't - RESULT! I still did have to clone out a few bits along the bottom but none that impinged on that so essential spire.

Please, also, click the thumbnail link at the bottom for last year's entry. Birds flying in front of a rainbow, with a long lens, it is one of my very highest viewed Blips - you will not be disappointed!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.