TynvdBrandhof

By TynvdB

The old Hague Brook

A lazy rainy Wednesday morning for a visit to the local market. The swimmingpool is closed the whole day. Unthinkable for our Great Sea...Imagine, Sea Closed..No swimming on Wednesday...So, I enjoy this slowing down the rhythm for the moment.
And then in the afternoon on my way to the beach I suddenly decided to take another route. Just for fun but also out of curiosity. I had done that already during our last stay in the Weser Uplands. After a couple of days I changed my "usual early-morning route"; had passed that unknow path so many times. Now we are going to see to where it leads. Take a risk in getting lost somewhere in the forest, so what...we're not so far from "home"..
So I took the road to the left where somewhere a bit higher up in the dunes I expected to find the beginning of an old brook. In the old days its waters slowly streamed to the North and then Eastward into the Central Pond next to the Knights Hall, where nowadays you find the Dutch House of Parliament rising out of the waters of the "Hofvijver". Water, power and politics. That's quite a History.
But for today I prefer to discover somewhere in the dunes hidden behind barren bramblebushes, dirt, litter, mud, some pool. No sparkling source, no origin, just a black waterpool. A footpath nearby. I will have to revisit this place of "non"-origin
later on. Perhaps on an icy Februar afternoon or during Springtime.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.