City lights

This could be sharper, but I was on one of those bridges that bounces when people walk by you.

I had an impromptu night out at the Queen Elizabeth Hall watching a friend's band. Fred and I caught up with Simon for dinner beforehand, which was really great. It's always super to see him, but we lost him in the dark of the auditorium when we went to find our seats. He was able to watch the first band, but he needed to go backstage first, then he couldn't see where we'd got to. Ah well.

The first band was a gentleman with a fiddle and a banjo, who was marvellous and I highly recommend him: Frank Fairfield.

The best band of the night was definitely the Trembling Bells, and that's not just bias talking. They played mostly new songs and they rocked! I haven't found any new videos of the band, so here's the song Alex and Vinnie ended tonight's set with:
Seven Years a Teardrop.

The main band, Cass Mccombs, was OK, but after the strong variety of the Trembling Bells, he just couldn't keep my interest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.