hildasrose

By hildasrose

By the light...

This was the moon shining over Halesowen at 6.45 this morning. I don't remember seeing it like that at that time in the morning before. I had to enlist super handyman husband's help with this as I am a super novice at all things technical on the camera.

What I like about this shot is the link of the natural world with the artificial world that we have created with the little old town own in the dip all lit up with its fairly nasty yellow lights. It seems to symbolise how far we are from being able to challenge and surpass the beauty and power of the natural world with our little attempt at light

KATHARINA
Forward, I pray, since we have come so far,
And be it moon, or sun, or what you please:
An if you please to call it a rush-candle,
Henceforth I vow it shall be so for me.
PETRUCHIO
I say it is the moon.
KATHARINA
I know it is the moon.
PETRUCHIO
Nay, then you lie: it is the blessed sun.

This is the point in "Taming of the Shrew" when Katharina shows that she knows that she has got to let Petruchio think he is in charge and that she will do what she is told. Or is it like that really? What is Shakespeare really saying here? Is he really promoting the view that woman must be subservient to her Lord and Master? Is he saying that now Katharina and Petruchio understand one another they have the basis for a good marriage? This is such a problematic play for an audience of 2014 teenagers. It will be interesting to see what Y12 have to say when we get to the end of it.

Meanwhile, it was the moon, and a joint effort has brought it to you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.