Foggy Morning

I saw the fog heavy on the ground when we went to bed last night. It was still there when I woke up. But soon the sun began to burn its way through. Here it comes. Should be a lovely day. We are off now for another busy day. Shopping and an interesting meeting about music and memory loss.

I'm back... it was indeed an interesting day. We shopped at Haggen's and got fruit and veggies mostly. We had a breather and then went to Bellingham Adult Day Health for a 3:30 talk by Dr Fitz, a neuro-psychologist about music and memory. He was a pleasure to listen to. He brought his brother along who was very excellent at playing all kinds of different styles of music on a keyboard that they brought with them. The talk was about ways to help people with memory problems to reconnect with their past memories through music. I learned some new things and reinforced things I had already learned about music and the brain. Turns out it is a subject I've been interested in for quite awhile. Dr. Fitz played some videos including an interview with Oliver Sacks, one of my favorite authors. We met our friend Gail there from the Music Club ant that was an added bonus. We also did a bunch of singing of old tunes that might bring back and reconnect patients with their past. Arvin loved it. I am pretty sure Helena did too.

Steve came over for dinner and we played Carcassonne. We watched a show we had recorded called "Brain Games" and then Helena and I took turns having long conversations with her sister Lynda. It was a good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.