ELLAphant

By Ellaphant

Classroom with a View

Nine straight hours of work today, broken briefly by two melted-cheese croissants and sips from the Tupperware beaker of tea I had prepared at home and brought along. (I prefer my own tea ... :) )

Late in the afternoon, about 17.00, after a grey day of rain, the sun suddenly broke free of the clouds. I said to my class 'Can you wait a moment? I need to get something from my office.' I then ran to the room, which is in another section but on the same floor, grabbed the camera from my bag, ran back (shooting the sun from every available window on the way) and explained to my amazed students that I just had to blip the view because it was too good to pass. Guess what? Every student turned to the window to look at what I was shooting, got out their mobile phones and started to capture the same view! Unbelievable! What a moment that was. After two minutes, we returned to the essays I was correcting but now, while awaiting their turn with me, instead of just playing with their apps, they were sharing the wonderful sunset shots they themselves had just made.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.