DanEllwood11

By DanEllwood11

Back to the bubbling bottle.

No issues uploading my chosen photo today thankfully!

It has been quite a slow day. Mum was here at 10:30, she tried waking me up but I was having none of it. I was still shattered from the day before. Even though I didn't do much, being out and doing simple things like, walking a bit further than I have been doing these past few weeks, takes it out of me.

I managed to get some college work done, which I actually enjoyed doing!

It was Ward Round today. Doctors didn't really have much to say other than they need to get my infection under control. My pleural space (the gap between my lung and chest wall) is full of a nasty infection which isn't helped with my drain having been in for so long.

Me and mum planned to go out to Wetherspoons for tea tonight. As I was getting ready the nurse came in. "The surgeon has just been on the phone, he's
coming to put another drain in, tonight."
So that messed up our plans!

Having a drain put in isn't nice at all. He had to take my other drain out ,but because it has been in for so long (since November) my skin had grown around it and formed a solid scab. It was like the drain was a part of me. Feeling him tugging away trying to break the scab was sickening. It didn't hurt because of the local anaesthetic but the sensation wasn't pleasant.

I'm in a bit of pain now. I think because my last drain was so thick, it was pushing on my ribs but over time my body got used to it. Now that drain has been taken out, my ribs are slowly returning to their normal position. I hope that makes sense. Now there is a dull ache with every inhalation.

Also, the hole which was left from the old drain hasn't been stitched good enough, so every time I cough I can hear and feel the air escaping. That needs to get sorted tomorrow.

Now I have this new drain in and with the new medication I'm on, this infection should start to slowly disappear.

So, I'm stuck with the bubbling bottle again! Hopefully they should change it back to the little bag I had before so I can be more mobile tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.