carliewired

By carliewired

The GPS Works!

On the edge of the
desert, technology leads
us to the "treasure".

~ carliewired

D bought me a GPS for Christmas as I've had a hankering to try geocaching for some time now. After Christmas we got it out of the box and charged it up. We did a trial run into town one day and it seemed to be working just fine, giving us the proper route to our destination and, again, to the house on the return trip.

Finally, I got back to the geocaching website and found a suitable location for my first official geocache find. I was a bit dismayed when we got close to the target and found we were going offroad. I vowed I would not go thrashing around in the desert with our only vehicle here. Thankfully, the location was not far from a subdivision and the GPS stopped us right beside it. There, under a creosote bush was a small tin which once held chewing tobacco, neatly tucked under a couple of rocks. Inside was two small folded sheets of paper recording the dates and the finders. I added my name and particulars, took my photos and returned everything to its original state. Success! I can call myself a geocacher now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.