carliewired

By carliewired

"Jewels" of the Quilt Show

Cotton, thread, buttons
and beads are fashioned into
quilts that do delight!

~ carliewired

I attended the annual Desert Lily Quilt Show at the Yuma Civic Center. It is a big one with lots of quilts and many vendors. The quilts on show were the work of many talented local quilters plus the Hoffman Challenge quilts (2013) that is a travelling collection done by many quilters in the US, Canada and other places.
The Desert Lily Quilters also run a sales room themselves featuring hand-made items like pincushions and potholders to raise money for the group.

When I first attended quilt shows (so many years ago) I would photograph practically every quilt in the show. Now, I just photograph those quilts which I call the "front runners" meaning those quilts that really stand out as unique and different in some way. It might be an unusual use of a pattern or block or fabric. It could be that the quilter is doing something I've not seen anywhere else. Today, I refined my shots even further. I just focused on the small details that I loved.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.