Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Uncommonly Common - Finis

Final entry in my self-imposed challenge this week - and it had to be a blue jay. The day started frosty but sunny - perfect for photography. I set the bait, fiddled with settings on the D600 and hunkered down to wait. Didn't take long for a noisy group of 7 blue jays to show up.

The thing with blue jays (like most other members of the corvid family) is that they always have a lot to say. Blue jays are great mimics and I've heard them doing excellent imitations of cardinals, red-tailed hawks and just recently, yellow-bellied sapsuckers. But usually when there is food involved, they don't both with imitations, preferring to go right for the classic corvid shrieks. Not melodic, but certainly distinctive.

I debated between this shot and a Tongue in Beak shot. Liked them both but thought this one gave you a different view of the blue jay than what I normally capture. I also liked Blue jay in a down jacket and the can-do Chickadee

Hubs and I are headed to Alabama tomorrow so not sure when I will be online again. Lots to do this weekend, related to elder care, so not a lot of time for photos. However, I am looking forward to meeting my newest grand-nephew while we are there, so maybe I can get him to pose for a few pics. He's only a few months old, so at least he won't be able to run off!

Comments will be sparse - thanks for bearing with me.

Happy Friday, people!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.