Banks Peninsula A&P Show Day, Little River

Well, here we are again - Show Day has rolled around once more.

When I say 'Show Day' I mean our local show, The Banks Peninsula A&P Show, held at Little River in the third Saturday each January.

As I mentioned yesterday, I convene the photography section. We had quite a few entries in today, and there were some real crackers in the mix too. I've been known to put a few entries in myself down the years (the competition is blind judged, so it's anonymous) and have done quite well. But this year I thought I'd have a rest, instead electing to enter only one section, specifically on shots around Ellesmere, that is judged by the Waihora Ellesmere Trust. Fortunately a couple of my former blips did wel for mel - 'Milky Way over Lake Ellesmere' and 'Ropes of Maui', with the former taking out the main prize.

After doing my bit to help run my section, I decided to go walkabout with the camera. The great thing about shows is that there's always lots of colour around, just like these ribbons on a couple of the show's champion horses.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.