The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Moments

“We do not remember days, we remember moments” Cesare Pavese

Thanks to Blipfoto I will be able to recall 1095 moments with far more lucidity than I might otherwise. 3 years' worth of blips has less significance to me than to someone who has managed to achieve an unbroken record. My 1095 has taken me precisely three and a half years, a strike rate of six blips for every seven days, still not bad for someone who has never managed to keep a diary beyond April.

Today’s photo, like that for the millennium blip, had to feature Gus. At the 730, I didn’t know he existed, and I had no hankering for dog ownership. But he appeared in our lives after a chance encounter on Arnside Knott, and now he's become my blip muse. He’s been in 77 blips (I think) before today. If he’s not in a blip, in almost all cases, his is an unseen presence.

Each morning and afternoon we step out of the house and I have no idea what we might find on our walk over the Knott or along the estuary. I hope for a special moment, a moment of transformation when something familiar becomes fleetingly magical. The camera is to hand, ready to respond spontaneously and reflexively. On many days, there has been such a moment and I’ve captured it, sometimes the photos aren’t sharp or they are a tad too noisy, but sometimes I get away with it. After over three years of daily use, the D90 is looking worse for wear, but amazingly it keeps going with only an occasional hiccup.

Thanks to Blipfoto the recorded moments have an existence beyond the hard drive of my computer. The experience of the moment can be shared across the world. The sharing has encouraged me to try harder to capture special moments, I think I have got better, if not technically, then at least in seeing and framing them. The act of sharing has opened up other opportunities, I have been asked to do an exhibition later this year of photographs taken in the Arnside and Silverdale Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. In July 2010 I could not have dreamed of that. It will definitely feature herons, highlanders and high lights.

Thank you to everyone who has encouraged me along the way with views, comments, stars, hearts and subscriptions - this is a unique and wondrous place. Here’s to the good ship Blipfoto, her captain and crew and all who sail in her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.