CandlelitStar

By BuissonCard

Sun Blanket

Everyday after high school I would pull back the curtains and open the blinds to allow the sun to shine directly onto my bed. Those few moments, as I rested on my bed with the full might of the sun beaming on me, gave me the opportunity to appreciate the comfort of warmth.

This appreciation transformed as I began noticing the pattern, texture, transparency, and (most importantly) warm colors of the curtain. They had a psychological effect of easing any tension under the current setting. The colors red and orange are commonly associated with aggression in the United States; however, Asian countries view these colors as symbols of life. They give "weight" to the world.

Thus, a stressful environment should have an outlet for thought and relaxation/comfort. Warm colors complement the desired effect for this outlet location. They should not overwhelm the senses with extensive use, but they should be strategically utilized throughout the movement of a space. A space that may feel like a home to some.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.