pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Pantomime!

I'd been looking forward to going to see the annual BATS pantomime for a while now.

This year it was celebrating it's fortieth birthday, which given the history (see my chum's insightful blog here) is no mean feat. Up until a couple of years ago (pre m'boy putting in an appearance) I was lucky enough to be involved with a few productions myself - to the extent of having written and directed one.

For the last couple of years though I've been content (I haven't) to sit in the crowd with The Carmenator and boo, hiss and laugh along with the rest of the audience.

This year's show 'Cinderella' was absolutely superb with great production values and - crucially - a decent script for the cast to work off, improvise from and on occasion; largely ignore.

The Carmenator and I had a hoot and both gave it 5* (our highest accolade) in our usual post show review.

It's a year to go until the next one, but if you're in or around the Burneside area this time in 2015, I whole heartedly suggest that you book a ticket and see just why the group has such a long history.

In the meantime, check out the website for photos and information on past and forthcoming productions!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.