TeaAddict

By TeaAddict

Louvre-tastic!

Day #2 in Paris and a perfect day today! After a lazy start, Mr M and I wandered down to the Louvre (which is very close to where we are staying) and then spent the next six hours wearing out the soles of our shoes walking around the gallery.

I never used to be a big fan of old paintings until I really got into photography. Now I see the old masters in a whole new light.. instead of stuffy depictions of boring religious scenes and old portraits of people I don’t know from Adam, I see fantastic examples of light and shadow, contrast, perspective and colour! Suddenly those boring old paintings have become fascinating! My favourites are the Dutch paintings.. no one does light like the Dutch Old Masters and I especially love the still life flower paintings, and I love love LOVE the Medieval paintings with their simple red, blue and gold colour palettes and almost abstract depictions of various religious bods – I could look at them all day!

Finished off the day at a classic little French bistro just round the corner from the hotel. Had an exquisite chorizo and squid risotto followed by a selection of French cheeses. Sadly, it’s going to take a lot more that six hours of mooching round the Louvre to even come close to working off the excess of calories we are consuming while here.. but hey – when in France!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.