horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

You're 'avin' a Giraffe!

So, two unconnected moans today.

Y'know on Sunday I was mentioning that my two most recent leisure rides had been halted by punctures, and that in all the year to that point commuting I'd only had one puncture? Well blow me if the tyre didn't go again last night. I thought it might be the Sunday patch giving way, because that was a big couple of holes, but no, it was a brand new one, in almost exactly the same place, but caused by a stray nail or tack or something.

Haha! But this time I had the pump, so within 10 minutes or so I was on my way again. So to get me back for such preparedness, as I cycled to work this morning, having covered three miles with the tyre holding up perfectly, I started to feel the 'judder' that can only come from a bulging tyre. Just as I was thinking about stopping the tube didn't so much puncture as explode. Without even looking at it I knew there'd be a huge tear in the tube, since the force had managed to pop the tyre off at one point. So there was a two mile walk the rest of the way.

And then once there I encountered the childish nature of some in work. A random car had parked in our car park at the back of the building. Right at the very end of it, but in the car park nonetheless. Now it's parked there before, and there are no signs stating that the car park is private (though it's pretty implicit) but when it was parked before no-one has complained. After parking a number of times and no-one saying anything I think you might start to believe it was okay.

Ah but the PA to the boss has new notices to put on cars that park there when they shoudn't, and I was despatched to put it onto the car (great use of your company lawyer as ever). This was fine to this point, as I popped it under the windscreen wiper. The the shouting from a window upstairs starts. not fromthe car owner, but from three of my colleagues, lead by the PA, telling me the notice is sticky and I should be sticking it to the window. Given the lack of previous warning, and this being the first time they were being told about the problem, I refused and left it under the wiper.

But as I got back into the building here comes the PA bounding down the stairs, dammit she was going to stick it on the window. Which she promptly did, as two colleagues literally whooped at the window above.

Now I've been accused (rightly) of being a big kid many a-time. But this was petty vindictiveness at its best. Oh, and the PA hasn't spoken to me the rest of the day. So that was a bit of a result.

Anyway, off to meet telly person tonight (so didn't need the bike for the ride home, and is the reason this photo is from my mobile rather than the SLR) before home to Mel, and then tomorrow after work I'll be jumping on a train heading to Aberdeen. taking the netbook, so blipping may well still be able to take place...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.