An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Overwhelmed and Thankful...

When you reach the grand old age of 47 you don’t really expect much on your birthday but oh my, to say I have been spoiled today is a bit of an understatement. I am totally overwhelmed by the cards, FB messages and texts received, not to mention the wonderful gifts; two of which made me cry!

I opened David and Alan’s gifts first. A beautiful silver heart necklace from Alan, two books of short stories, a special list making book (with stickers and tick boxes and things ) and the most gorgeous leather handbag. Then came the one that had me bubbling.

I opened an envelope to find two sheets of A4 paper. Typed along the top of the first page was Di’s East Neuk Experience Intrigued, I turned to the second page to find the following:_

Overview

A Day of Diane-centric pleasure.

Itinerary (Suggested)

09.00 : Depart for the East Neuk
10.00 – 12.30 : Photographic Extravaganza – just tell your driver* where you want to go. Tripod carried. Camera bag and lenses carried. Fuss free so you can relax and focus ;-)
12.30 – 13.00 : Travel to lunch venue
13.00 – 14.30 : Lunch. Suggested venue – The Seafood Restaurant, St Andrews. Enjoy first class food whilst enjoying splendid sea views and sparkling company.
15.00 – 16.30 : Chesterhill Therapies, St Andrews – pamper yourself silly!
16.30 – 17.30 : Return home.
17.30 – 19.30 : Feet up. G&T.
19.30 – 21.30 : Chef David creates something most tasty.
21.30 – 22.30 : Alan retires.
22.30 onwards …….

Requirements

Self
Camera & Equipment
Driver
Fine weather
Ed to get Alan in from school

Evaluation

You should feel relaxed and pampered.


I am gobsmacked! A day with my hubby, my camera, good food and pampering as well. I cannot think of a more perfect gift. Thank you SO much you wonderful man. I knew the first time I clapped eyes on you that you were a keeper! :-)) xxx

The second gift that made me cry is from my stepdad John and it’s a dvd of the coverage the BBC had in its news archive of my mum and the news storm surrounding her rescue of the man and his baby. Black and white, grainy footage of the event, bits of it hard to follow but then the most precious thing ever, my mum being interviewed about it.

Young, beautiful and kind of startled looking as she is interviewed by a man sounding exactly like Mr Chumley-Warner :)) And incredibly funny as she tries to convert her Scottish accent into the Queen’s English. Priceless, priceless footage. To me anyway :D

I feel incredibly loved and sooooo lucky.

P.S. And thanks to you too P for your wonderful gift. I am having great fun and great difficulty choosing!

PPS * driver is David :)

PPPS Doorbell just rang and it's a delivery of beautiful flowers from Marion. Now I'm bubbling again!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.