Flying the Flag

I'm not sure how the village is off for 'Old Colonels' but we seem to have a few people who like to fly the colours from their masthead. I'm not sure I'd know what to do. Do you just put it up when you're 'in residence' and down at other times. I do know that this is being flown correctly, the right way up (I learnt that in the cubs). But wait, there is a protocol.

"Flags are normally flown from sunrise to sunset but they may also be flown at night, when they should be illuminated".

"National flags should never be flown in a worn or damaged condition, or
when soiled. To do so is to show disrespect for the nations they represent."

"When a flag becomes tattered or faded and is no longer in a suitable condi
tion for use, it should be destroyed in a dignified way, for example by burn
ing, tearing or cutting into strips that no longer resemble the original flag."

"It is improper to use the national flags as a table or seat cover."

There's a whole lot more that you can learn if you google 'The Flag Institute'. Now I know this I think I'll get a flagpole erected immediately but I notice that "No permission is needed to fly the national flags and they are excluded from most planning and advertising regulations (but flagpoles may not be). Bu**er, I can't be bothered to go through a planning application. Ah well!

I hope you have a bit of wind in your sails today.

David

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.