carliewired

By carliewired

The Second Attempt

Blue and white and shades
in between, blended, textured
with careful advice

~ carliewired

I was up late last night. About 10 PM I decided that I should restart the landscape I was to finish for my painting class last week. (I'd come home with a complete disaster on the canvas. It wasn't until it sat and stared at me for a couple of days that it finally hit me where I'd gone wrong)

I set up my paints and easel on the kitchen table. I turned the television to Gilligan's Island reruns and started from the beginning. This time I was determined to follow the directions Linda had given us. One should always follow the recipe as written, at least the first time!

I produced something much closer to Linda's demonstration. I used my palette knife to mix the colours and to spread the colours on the canvas, then swirled the paint over the canvas with a paper towel blending it in as Linda had directed.

It is sitting on my table today. D says it needs 'something' and I agree. Birds in the sky? (maybe a Boeing 747?) The foreground could be water or land with snow. Maybe there could be a boat or a skier in the foreground. It will have to sit a while longer. I will say I'm not done. I'll just say it's a start.

Linda refers to her 'recipe' for a landscape as an "Impressionist Painting". It is all about the light, especially the light in the sky and reflections and shadows that are created. I will work on that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.