A journey through Zogland

By Zog

Chilli Flower

On a whim, a few weeks ago, I bought a chilli plant (half price) in Waitrose. I didn't expect much, just the chance to use some fresh chillies or maybe even to dry some. I thought it was more of an interesting colour splash for the kitchen with the potential to provide some heat in the occasional curry. Heat did I say? Heavens, these things are lethal. It's true that the small ones are the hottest.

Anyway, just last week I noticed what looked like flower buds on the plant, and yesterday the first dainty little flower appeared. As far as I can see, the flowers are self-pollinating, only requiring dusting with a brush or cotton bud to do the needful.

My half price chilli plant looks as if it has been a good investment. Hot stuff in these cold days.

365/22

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.