The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

An Audience with a Sheep (actually an angora goat)

I got home from my first job, to find the sun streaming in. CleanSteve suggested going on a watery walk, and I was keen, because if he brings the car then I can bring the 50D!

So we parked up at on one of the old mills/ industrial estates on the canal side, also adjacent to the river Frome. CleanSteve believed we might see a kingfisher. I was not convinced, because there are no overhanging trees, but it was lovely to be out in the fresh air, and the canal was still and full of reflections. Notices for anglers, who may use the canal in season for their sport, are printed in English and Polish. "All fish must be put back alive" is the gist of it.

As we approached the house called "Harmonie" where I bought a job lot of jigsaw puzzles a year ago, we saw the pet sheep/goats/angora thingies grazing by the canal. As we crossed the bridge at Ham Mill Lane, we saw they were backlit, and then as we got the cameras ready, something amazing happened.

The Alpha sheep approached the fence, put his hooves up on it, and posed for fully five minutes, turning its head this way and that so we could see its best angle. It did not seem to want food (at least not the grass we offered it) but clearly wanted to show us its finer points. I have known 'pet sheep' before (this is what these are) but never posing sheep! In honour of the occasion, I have blipped the poseur. I got some good-enough shots of the quiet canal scene too, but this moment was the most unique for me.

PS My brother says it's an Angora goat. He is right.

Later, I had to go and pose (life model) at the college. The tables were turned. C'est la vie....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.