The second half of life..

By twigs

The Great Escape

After intending to pack the van gradually during the course of the day yesterday, but knowing how I operate, I shouldn't have been at all surprised that I didn't finish the packing and leave home until the afternoon! To be fair, I was up at 7.30 ready to meet and greet Mel who is the friend of a friend who will be house sitting for me. It turns out that she is doing a lot of house sitting around the place and was sitting at 'home' (wherever that currently happens to be) last night when she received my text asking about her availability. Smiles all round :) Another serendipitious event. She came round and we chatted for quite some time whilst I showed her around and familiarised her with a few of the quirky features of my old house and the boys. She seems absolutely lovely with the added bonus that she loves looking after cats too. I think the boys may be in for a lovley time whilst I'm away!

I've slowly wended my way to Wharanui - a tiny settlement about 70kms north of Kaikoura. It's been windy - very windy - this evening so the combination of the ocean lapping the shore about 50 metres to the east and the wild wind driving in from the west I'm surrounded by noise! But it's lovely noise - very therapeutic and relaxing. I'm feeling much freer already and I've only been away a few hours :) And to top it all off, this stunning sunset. Wonderful.

The plan tomorrow is to go to Ohau Stream and waterfall about 45 kms south of here. Then onto Kaikoura, then who knows what?! We'll wait and see what tomorrow brings :)

G'night for now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.