MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

John Lewis (Pied) Partnership

I wagged my tail. I took a Dyson that wasn't up to Jazzy dog and the woodburner to John Lewis in Welwyn Garden City and they swapped it for a Sebo. :)

I had heard the roost of pied wagtails twittering in the past so decided to try to capture them. They congregate in a tree lit by a sodium lamp by the John Lewis pick-up point. Pied wagtails naturally roost together in reed beds. They do it for warmth, safety in numbers and so that they can share information about foraging sites. There has been a study on roosts in greenhouses, they used to roost in my parents' and they are often to be found in city centres. They have taste. They have chosen John Lewis in Norwich and Exeter. :)

Not enough light for my long lens and I didn't want to use flash. Could have done with a tripod. A little crowd gathered while I was togging. Many people hadn't spotted the birds before, were captivated and wanted details. My lucky day - I was pooped upon. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.