G'Day Possums

Theatre Royal in Newcastle this afternoon - Barry Humphries' Farewell Tour. The first half showcased obnoxious, rude disgusting, non-pc Les Patterson. I soon realised that audience participation was very high on Mr Humphries list. As I was very near the stage - in the 3rd row - I spent the rest of the show in fear of being " picked on ". Luckily I escaped his eye. A good few others didn't. The first half ended with a soliloquy by different character - Sandy Stone - who is deceased. It was a very poignant performance.

The second half was totally Dame Edna Everage in all her glory. More audience participation and general good fun. At the finale gladioli were thrown into the audience and we all stood up to wave them about. Surprisingly Dame Edna then encouraged the audience to take photos - when does that ever happen at the theatre?. I managed to get a few shots - the bright theatre lighting didn't make for good photos but I captured the moment. Other shots are HERE and HERE. Amazingly Dame Edna managed to change into BARRY HUMPHRIES himself in the space of a couple of minutes. He spoke directly to us --- and invited us all to come to his NEXT farewell tour.

Came out of the theatre at about 4.45pm and did a bit of food shopping before coming home. The weather has turned colder today but it was sunny day which was a change. ( I managed to get my gladioli home in one piece and it now stands proudly in a vase of water.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.