Load of rubbish (a story about a landlord part II)

Oh dear, it looks like we're in for a battle judging by this crystal clear text message from the landlord today:

dear David and Larissa i read the contract yesterday and found the clause madam mona stated clause # 8 and it was very clear and i called ms mona and she confirmed that again and i called a lawyer friend and all confirmed that it is clear, ms mona says that she called you and she made it clear that the clause is there but your answer was that i was ok with letting go of the penalty, that is true if i got a new person to move in , but that was out of pure generousty from me depending on getting someone to rent.
so if you still think you owe me nothing though all parties confirmed it's clarity, then i think there is no point of me coming today to pick up the key as it is going to be a very uncomfortable meeting and not nice, so i would rather avoid the unpleasant comfortation as it will ruin decent realtionship that was there.
so as long as no penalty is paid though mentioned in # 8, then i will just need the key and check my status with my lawyer to tell me what it right and wrong, and i will leave it there and just wish u luck in your next step


What a load of rubbish.

Talking of which, this is the rather charming Road 206 in Maadi, one of the nicest areas to live in Cairo. Anyone following my journal about the people in Egypt will not be surprised to learn that there is plenty of room in the bin. I was beeped a few times by angry drivers while I took this; people who no doubt prefer foreigners to think they live in a land of beauty, pyramids, camels, ancient history and diverse culture, rather than an over-populated, noisy, filthy shit-hole.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.