Journey Through Time

By Sue

Backyard Bird Collage

Lots of gusty east winds, blue skies and bird activity today. I put on my coat, put up the hood to keep the wind as much off my face as possible (nerve damaged face is letting me know it doesn't like the cold wind on it) and set up the tripod. So, that was kind of fun!

Bill is off to see if the Trailblazer basketball team can bring in a win on the home court. I am left to amuse myself as best as I can. That's okay...I don't mind.

Top Left and down to bottom row - Song Sparrow, Male Downey Woodpecker, House Sparrow (Weaver Finch Family), Bewick's Wren, Female Downey Woodpecker, and the large image is the Yellow-Rumped Warbler.

The House Sparrow, sometimes called English Sparrow was introduced from England to N. America in the middle of the 19th century. They like it here and have spread to nearly all of N. America. It aggressively competes with our native cavity nesting species of birds for nest spots. They will kill adult birds, nestling, and eggs of other species in order to take over a birdhouse or cavity.

Of course, many of my ancestors came from England and look how that turned out for the native species...so I guess I can't say much about the House Sparrow.

See ya later, kids.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.