Mikey88

By Mikey88

Pond

This is the pond without all the lilies and weeds which I pulled out a few weeks ago around the edge. Last summer, all the clear water you can see was choked with them. I still need to concrete in three of the stones around the edge and restock with a miniature water lily.

I'm hoping that having clear water again, the damsel flies will return. Three years ago, we were getting between sixteen and twenty at a time, and then for the last two years, we only had one or two. Hopefully, it was the lack of open water that caused the problem and not just the awful summers which we had.

To the left of the pond are half a dozen steps which lead up to the back door and whenever I leave the house, I stop for a minute or two and have a look to see if anything it going on in the pond. This morning, a couple of frogs ducked under when I came out, and later in the day, one stayed on the surface - it looked very fat, so I think we're going to have spawn in the next week or so.

To the right of the pond, you can see a drop - it's about five feet down and if I stand on a low stool down there, I get an eye level view of the pond, so as the frogs begin gathering and spawning, expect lots of frog pictures!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.