carliewired

By carliewired

Big Breakfast - Big Job

Always start your day
with a hearty breakfast, then
get yourself busy!!

~ carliewired

Having been raised on a farm, the day must always start with a substantial breakfast. One never knows when there's going to be time or opportunity for another meal before sundown.

Today, after sleeping in past 9 o'clock, we toddled over to the bakery around the corner to see what they had to offer. For me, it was sausage, scrambled eggs with salsa and biscuits with gravy. I first encountered biscuits with gravy while in Florida in 2007. The combination didn't really look too appealing and certainly wasn't "Canadian" but I thought I'd give it a try. Not bad! Not any worse than a stack of pancakes smothered in syrup, I'm sure. The biscuits under all that goo are light and fluffy. The gravy is a milk gravy with lots of black pepper. A true American favourite, I'm told.

Back at the house, my next project begins. I will peel all the wallpaper off the bathroom walls. Not a fun process! Previous owners of this house applied a rather attractive paper but it is now coming up at the seams so it has to go. Getting back to the wallboard without damaging the finish will be the challenge. It's slow-going. I have to dispense with these jobs so I can get back to my patchwork and paints. There's the incentive!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.