carliewired

By carliewired

Geocache #2

Secreted beneath
a twisted, dry cadaver
a cache awaits me

~ carliewired

The GPS was put to the test once again today. We programmed in the coordinates and headed off as directed.

We stopped for a date shake en route. Had a look around the Farm Shop. Picked out the salt and pepper shakers Kid #2 had requested. Found a jacket that I coveted. Off we went again.

We zoomed right in on the target beside Highway 95 north of Yuma. This took a bit of searching as one mesquite bush, dead or alive, looks pretty much like all the others on the desert. During the search I discovered a lovely orange wildflower I had not seen before. I know I would not have seen it at all had I not been stopped and looking for this cache. The desert globe mallow is very pretty. I scoured around the base of several bushes until I found a heap of sticks and a large rock securing the cache. The cache's owner had cleverly painted a plastic pill bottle dark green so it sat in the shadows rather well.

As I was adding my name to the roster and inserting it back in the cache I could hear a siren out on the highway. I managed to capture the police car roaring by us. Minutes later, we caught up with the police car on Highway 95 as it was attending a motorcycle accident. The accident scene did not look hopeful for the motorcyclist.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.