Wendywoo2

By Wendywoo2

Gosport project. 'C is for ....'

This is the next part of my project - missed last week as I was making the most of the nice weather and headed to the beach. This week I have decided to focus my project on 'Clarence (Royal) Yard'.

'The yard was opened in 1828 and the Navy's leading victualling establishment. It was here meat, cheese, butter, dried fish, portable soup, rum, chocolate and tobacco were produced and packed, first in wooden barrels and later in tins for the nations sailors. Clothing and footwear were also packed and distributed to ships. Millions of the famous ships biscuits were baked here every day as was fresh bread. Clarence Yard's greatest challenge was the provision of vast quantities of food for the thousands of troops waiting at Spithead in the late spring of 1944 for the D-Day go ahead. Staff from Clarence Yard went out everyday during this period in their storage boats topping up the waiting ships with fresh food and water.
In the post war period Clarence Yard took on another role as the Navy's Food Laboratories where the freeze drying of food was perfected. From these tests we have today coffee granules in instant coffee preparations and friend fruit and vegetables such as sun dried tomatoes in our supermarkets.
Royal Clarence Yard ceased to exist in 1991 as the ministry of defence sold it to developers. Redevelop of the buildings are taking place into housing, retail and commercial properties. The granary, bakery and slaughterhouse are the most spectacular buildings and are Grade 2 listed buildings'.

(Information from Gosport Society website)

I had to take this on my phone so apologises for the light and composition as it's really hard to park in the yard unless you are a resident so not to draw attention to myself I had to take and run quite literally !!!

Today I was also trying out my macro lens and flash. I am not quite getting the hang of my lens - I am so frustrated by it to be honest. I so love macro photography and I am finding this so hard. Any tips from anyone with regards to macro or the use of my lens (tamron 90mm macro lens) would be helpful. I just want to use it to its full potential!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.