Wendywoo2

By Wendywoo2

The need for sleep

This photo is a little fuzzy as it was taken sneakily at the airport. It always amazes me how people can sleep so soundly within the hustle and bustle of the airport. What I didn't quite understand was that this person and another was asleep in the arrivals lounge. I totally understand in departures especially if their flight is delayed for hours. But not within arrivals.

I was there in the early hours picking up my mum after her carribean cruise with a stop over in New York. She travelled alone - first time since she separated from her partner. What I admire about my mum is when she was married to my dad she wasn't the most outgoing or confident of people. Dad was quite a large character so she was often quite quiet. Since he passed away she straight away got back out there and one of things she did was go away on her own - often on cruises so she felt safe. Over the years she has travelled to many places and I am really proud how she has just got herself back there and lived her life. This time I was a little worried travelling out to New York on her own but she just got on with it. She had a great time and made a great friend whilst she was there and has come back really happy. So good all round.

My lack of blips has been down to 'man flu' - although I am obviously not a guy but have been quite ill all week and has still gone into work. So today it all caught up with me and I have felt dreadful. Here's hoping I feel a little better tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.